While North Carolina issues carry permit/licenses to residents, the state does not issue carry permit/licenses to non-residents.
Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in North Carolina for residents and non-residents, as well as honored in many other states.
North Carolina has many restrictions regarding the purchasing and carrying of hand guns. In order to purchase a handgun a Permit to Purchase or a concealed permit for handguns is required. North Carolina is generally speaking an open carry state but there may be limitations with some local governments. Some counties within North Carolina even require handguns to be registered with the county sheriff.
North Carolina is a “shall issue” state which means that anyone who applies and meets the requirements shall be granted a permit for concealed carry.
You’ll be able to apply for the Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in North Carolina and many other states. This is the easiest way to complete the training and paperwork required to obtain a concealed carry permit that will help you defend yourself and your family.
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside. This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in the state you reside as a valid concealed carry permit.
How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?
Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:
To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm
You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for “firearms/concealed handguns” and then click on “Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits” link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.
To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
State CCW Site: http://www.ncdoj.com/getdoc/19be6294-bfbf-4875-bbef-ac2ebb6f47b2/2-6-3-6-3-Concealed-Weapon-Reciprocity.aspx
State CCW Pamphlet: http://www.ncdoj.com/getdoc/32344299-a2a7-4ae5-99fd-9018262f64ac/2007-NC-Firearms-gun-Laws.aspx
State Statutes: http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/gascripts/Statutes/statutestoc.pl
State Reciprocity Info: http://www.ncdoj.com/About-DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-Standards/Law-Enforcement-Liason/Concealed-Weapon-Reciprocity.aspx
State Attorney General: http://www.ncdoj.com/Home.aspx?lang=en-US
2nd CCW Info Site: http://mcsowebsvr.co.mecklenburg.nc.us/mecklenburg/gunpermits.asp
Secretary of State: http://www.sosnc.com/