In Montana, there’s only one place to get your multi-state CCW permit entirely online: Online Carry Training!
Residents can apply for their Montana carry permit/license through your county Sheriff’s department. While Montana does not issue carry permit/licenses to non-residents, Montana does honor the Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License.
Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Montana for residents and non-residents, as well as honored in many other states. Our class gives you everything you need, and nothing you don’t in a convenient video, ready whenever you are, whenever is easiest for you. It only takes about 20 minutes, and when you’ve passed a short test, you’ll be ready to apply for a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, which is honored in Montana and many other states.
Montana ranks up at the top of the most permissive gun carry laws in the United States. In Montana you may openly carry without a permit or license. In addition to the generous open carry laws, concealed carry is also permitted outside of cities and towns throughout the state. Montana has complete state preemption of firearms laws with exceptions being made for localities to regulate the carrying of concealed or open carry weapons. These exceptions include public assembly, publicly owned buildings, parks within its jurisdiction or at schools. Regulations are also in place for felons, minors, illegal aliens and the mentally incompetent.
Montana is a “shall issue” state meaning that anyone who applies and meets the requirement s and passes a background check will be granted a permit. To obtain a concealed weapons permit in Montana a person must have been a Montana resident for at least six months, be a US citizen and be at least 18 years old. Applications are available at your local sheriff’s office and must be signed in the presence of a representative after you present a valid ID.
It’s easy, intuitive, and our instructors are world-class. It’s the best value available for your multi-state Concealed Carry Permit.
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside. This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in the state you reside as a valid concealed carry permit.
How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?
Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:
To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm
You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for “firearms/concealed handguns” and then click on “Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits” link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.
To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
State CCW Site: https://doj.mt.gov/enforcement/concealed-weapons/
CCW Application: http://test.doj.mt.gov/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/concealedweaponpermitapplicationsample1.pdf
State Statutes: http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/index.htm
State Admin Rules: http://www.mtrules.org/
State Reciprocity Info: https://doj.mt.gov/enforcement/concealed-weapons/
State Attorney General: https://doj.mt.gov/
2nd CCW Info Site: http://www.co.yellowstone.mt.gov/sheriff/weapons.asp
Secretary of State: http://sos.mt.gov/
ConcealedExpress.com makes no representations or warranties regarding its customers’ legal right or ability to carry a firearm in states with reciprocal permit to carry or conceal and carry agreements with other jurisdictions. Though the state-specific certification our customers receive will allow them to apply for a permit under the laws of the state for which our classes are designed, such certification may not give you the legal right or ability to apply for permits in other states, including your home state. You should consult with appropriate law enforcement officials, or your own legal counsel, to determine whether or not the certification you receive from our courses will make you eligible apply for a permit in a particular state, or to otherwise carry a firearm in that state.